It has been almost two years since I graduated with a Master’s Degree in Social Work, and I am beginning to doubt whether or not I want to remain in the field. Clinical Social Workers (generally means a master's degree + at least 2 years of clinical supervision) can diagnose mental illness and do psychotherapy. Social work makes for an incredibly fulfilling yet emotionally taxing career choice. Professionals enter challenging work environments to aid people facing uphill battles and often find themselves helping with crisis situations, such as mental health or abuse emergencies. - LCSW (which seems like a good alternative to getting a PsyD but I know that I really don't want to go into social work) - master's in human resources (because it would take only 3 semesters and I could probably earn a higher salary than i ever could as a psychologist, based on what I've heard) LCSW vs. LPC or LMHC. Seeing a therapist can be anxiety-inducing on its own, but it’s worth it. Thanks for the notes. Law and social work can truly go hand in hand. Anyone in the profession knows that is not the reality of the situation. Keep your eyes on the prize. The Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) seems on the surface to be functionally very similar to the Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) or Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC), and while this is true there are also some important differences both in terms of schooling required, as well as professional outlook and methods employed. Anyone that would suggest otherwise is simply wrong. She is a California Licensed Clinical Social Worker with over 20 years in the field. √ Masters in Social Work, MSW (2 year graduate degree plus supervised professional employment) √ State LCSW license required to practice. The average LCSW can make as much as $30,000 more per year than the average social work graduate. An LCSW can greatly enhance your life and your future. What are my reasons you ask? Studying for the LCSW might seem like a lot of work