Because harvesting cochineal dye is labor intensive, it was replaced by synthetic dyes in the 1800s. You may have heard of carmine red, sometimes used in paints or in food as a red pigment coloring. Formula for gathering quantity = ( Harvesting Power + [50% chance of +1] ) x Harvest Amount Multiplier For example, a Steel Pick has a harvesting power of 5. They do offer a 3 day course in making natural dyes. You don't have to hunt and harvest these little guys yourself. Today insecticides are used to get rid of it. I enjoyed reading. There are so many plants, not only Cochineal, to gather to create a full spectrum of natural dyes. Cochineal, red dyestuff consisting of the dried, pulverized bodies of certain female scale insects, Dactylopius coccus, of the Coccidae family, cactus-eating insects native to tropical and subtropical America. How to Harvest. My Question:  I am a fibers artist that would like to harvest the cochineal bugs from the prickly pear cactus. They feed off the cacti's sap and are spread naturally across cactus plantations. Love this post! The cochineal insect had been long cultivated as a dye both in Mesoamerica and the Andes. I planted these cactus a few years back and was very surprised when I found cochineal on them. I suspect that conditions are more important than dates. Cochineal beetles to craft red dye (carmine) [Blocks & Items] Cochineal is an insect that lives on prickly pear cactuses. I am going to harvest and cultivate my own cochineal for Folk Fibers. I would like to know what time of year should I expect to find the cochineal bugs around the Austin area? Then, farmers harvest cochineal insects by hand. Strain the colored dye solution into a non-reactive vessel (I used a glass Pyrex bowl), and reserve the bug residue. It is not easy to eradicate the cochineal, as every single insect can produce many eggs, which develop quickly. Jump to: navigation, search. It seems to work the best. Female cochineals are soft and shapeless with a silky